Following a rigorous evaluation of nominees, which may include on-site assessments, the Conrad N. Hilton Humanitarian Prize jury meets once a year to make its decision.

The Conrad N. Hilton Humanitarian Prize Jury is comprised of one Hilton Foundation board member, one Hilton family member, and six independent jurors from around the world whose experience in the humanitarian and development sectors uniquely position them to identify exceptional organizations. The 2024 Hilton Humanitarian Prize jury includes the following individuals:

Past Jurors

The following individuals previously served as jurors for the Conrad N. Hilton Humanitarian Prize.

Hawley Hilton McAuliffe
Chair of the Board, Conrad N. Hilton Foundation

Sir Fazle Hasan Abed (1936 – 2019)
Founder and Chair Emeritus, BRAC

Susanna Agnelli (1922-2009)
Former Minister of Foreign Affairs, Italy

Catherine A. Bertini
Professor of Public Administration, Syracuse University; Former Senior Fellow, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation; Former Executive Director, United Nations World Food Programme

Gro Brundtland, MD, MPH
Former Director General, World Health Organization; Former Prime Minister of Norway

Dr. Francis M. Deng
Representative of the United Nations Secretary General on Internally Displaced Persons and Former Ambassador to the United States, Canada, and Scandinavia from the Sudan

Gregory R. Dillon (1922-2009)
Former Director, Conrad N. Hilton Foundation

William H. Foege, MD, MPH
Director, Conrad N. Hilton Foundation; Chairman, Global Health Council; and Senior Advisor, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

James R. Galbraith
Director, Conrad N. Hilton Foundation

Eric Hilton (1933-2016)
Director, Conrad N. Hilton Foundation; son of the late Conrad N. Hilton

Princess Salimah Aga Khan
Ambassador for Children, SOS-Children’s Villages International

Dr. C. Everett Koop (1916-2013)
Former Surgeon General of the United States (1981-1989)

Strive Masiyiwa
Founder and Executive Chairman of Econet Wireless

Olara A. Otunnu
President, LBL Foundation for Children; Former UN Under-Secretary-General and Special Representative for Children and Armed Conflict

His Excellency Anand Panyarachun
Former Prime Minister of Thailand

Margarita Peñón
Former Chair of the Arias Foundation for Peace and Human Progress, Costa Rica

Mark Rosenberg, M.D., M.P.P
Former Director, Conrad N. Hilton Foundation

Dr. Robert A. Seiple
Former Ambassador-at-Large for International Religious Freedom, U.S. State Department

Professor Amartya Sen
Nobel Prize Laureate in Economics; Lamont University Professor, Harvard University

Liv Ullmann
UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador and Co-founder, Women’s Commission for Refugee Women and Children

Dr. Richard von Weizsäcker (1920-2015)
Former President of the Federal Republic of Germany

Professor Muhammad Yunus
Founder, Grameen Bank, Bangladesh; Nobel Peace Prize Laureate (2006)